

To: Members of the County Council Date: 26 June 2019

Direct Dial: 01824706141

e-mail: democratic@denbighshire.gov.uk

Dear Councillor

You are invited to attend a meeting of the COUNTY COUNCIL to be held at 10.00 am on TUESDAY, 2 JULY 2019 in the COUNCIL CHAMBER, COUNTY HALL, RUTHIN LL15 1YN.

Yours sincerely

G Williams Head of Legal, HR and Democratic Services

AGENDA

1 APOLOGIES

2 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST (Pages 5 - 6)

Members to declare any personal or prejudicial interests in any business identified to be considered at this meeting.

3 URGENT MATTERS AS AGREED BY THE CHAIR

Notice of items which, in the opinion of the Chair, should be considered at the meeting as a matter of urgency pursuant to Section 100B(4) of the Local Government Act, 1972.

4 CHAIRMAN'S DIARY (Pages 7 - 8)

To note the civic engagements undertaken by the Chairman of the Council (copy attached).

5 MINUTES (Pages 9 - 18)

To receive the minutes of the:

- (i) Annual Meeting of Council held on the 14th May 2019 (copy enclosed), and
- (ii) Special meeting of Council held on the 30th May 2019 (copy enclosed).

6 QUESTION BY THE PUBLIC

Ms Gwyneth Ellis, Cynwyd, has submitted the following question:

"Does the Council acknowledge the Charter between Denbighshire's city, town and community councils and Denbighshire County Council, and strive to cooperate with the local councils in accordance with that Charter?"

7 NOTICE OF MOTION (Pages 19 - 20)

A Notice of Motion put forward by Councillors Graham Timms, Mabon ap Gwynfor and Joseph Welch for consideration by Council (copy attached).

8 SENIOR PAY CHANGES 2019 (Pages 21 - 40)

To consider a report by the HR Manager (copy attached) about proposed changes to the remuneration of four heads of service which will be required to facilitate the Leisure Alternative Delivery Model.

9 IMPLEMENTATION OF AN ALTERNATIVE DELIVERY MODEL (ADM) FOR VARIOUS LEISURE RELATED ACTIVITIES / FUNCTIONS (Pages 41 - 90)

To consider a joint report by Councillors Bobby Feeley, Cabinet Lead Member for Well-being and Independence and Julian Thompson-Hill, Cabinet Lead Member for Finance, Performance and Strategic Assets (copy enclosed) to obtain Council's approval of the draft Articles of Association and Member Agreement as set out in the Appendices to this report.

10 STANDARDS COMMITTEE ANNUAL REPORT (Pages 91 - 96)

To consider a report by the Monitoring Officer (copy enclosed) to present the work of the committee and its findings and observations, to all Council Members as part of the Committee's drive to increase standards of ethical behaviour and compliance with the Members Code of Conduct.

11 ANNUAL PERFORMANCE REVIEW 2018 - 19 (Pages 97 - 166)

To consider a report from the Strategic Planning and Performance Team Leader (copy attached) to approve the Annual Performance Review 2018 – 19.

ANNUAL REPORT OF THE CORPORATE GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE (Pages 167 - 172)

To consider a report by the Head of Legal, HR and Democratic Services (copy attached) about the work of the Corporate Governance Committee for the municipal year 2018/19.

13 COMMITTEE TIMETABLE 2020 (Pages 173 - 190)

To consider a report from the Democratic Services Manager and Committee Administrator (copy enclosed) to approve a committee timetable for 2020.

14 COUNTY COUNCIL FORWARD WORK PROGRAMME (Pages 191 - 194)

To consider the Council's forward work programme (copy enclosed).

MEMBERSHIP

Councillors

Councillor Meirick Lloyd Davies (Chair) Councillor Alan James (Vice-Chair)

Mabon ap Gwynfor Brian Blakeley Joan Butterfield

Jeanette Chamberlain-Jones

Ellie Chard Ann Davies Gareth Davies Hugh Evans Peter Evans Bobby Feeley Rachel Flynn Tony Flynn

Huw Hilditch-Roberts

Martyn Holland Hugh Irving Brian Jones Huw Jones Pat Jones Tina Jones Gwyneth Kensler Geraint Lloyd-Williams

Richard Mainon Christine Marston Barry Mellor
Melvyn Mile
Bob Murray
Merfyn Parry
Paul Penlington
Pete Prendergast
Arwel Roberts
Anton Sampson
Peter Scott
Glenn Swingler
Andrew Thomas
Rhys Thomas

Tony Thomas
Julian Thompson-Hill
Graham Timms
Joe Welch
Cheryl Williams
David Williams
Eryl Williams
Huw Williams

Emrys Wynne Mark Young

COPIES TO:

Press and Libraries

Town and Community Councils